Sand

Some of my happiest childhood memories  are there.

Annual family holidays, staying  in  the  same  chalet, overlooking the beach. Days spent building sandcastles, getting sand in our sandwiches, running to the  nearby cafe for an ice cream that  would  seem to melt before  our eyes. Clear blue  sea that was dotted  with  the  occasional boat and families  braving the cold  water.

After it had happened  I remember going to stay with  a close  friend  who was doing a gap year at a church  in a beautiful  part of the country. One  day  I found myself at the quayside browsing the quirky tourist  shops. A short walk  down from the busier high street I  found a quiet spot to sit on the grass. I looked out over the lake and across to the multi  coloured  hills on the other side. There, sat in the sun, I  knew I was safe. I felt the  arms of God  around me and I  felt in awe of the beauty of the world in front of me. I  have  reflected on the beauty of that  place time  and  time  again.

The  copy of the Footprints  poem still stands  protected in a photo  frame. My non Christian  Mum , knowing the words resonated  with me gave me the  poem as my welcome home gift from the  States when i went on my own to visit family members at the  tender age of 13. The image of Jesus carrying me on the beach  continues to be a huge source of  comfort  to me.

I am not alone and when I am on the  beach I feel that even stronger.

Leave a comment